Avner Dorman: After Brahms (Three Intermezzos for Piano)

For solo piano.


For solo piano. Written for and premiered by Orli Shaham. "The first of the three movements...took its cue from Op. 118, No. 1, directly quoting that work but subtly adding chromatic colorations, culminating in a coda of atomic force. The second movement, based on Op. 119, No. 1, had a soulful, almost blues feel. The closing Adagio espressivo movement, the only completely original one, was ironically the most Brahmsian of all, beginning with a simple, understated theme that gradually accumulates dissonant harmonization." - Tim Sawyer, Chicago Classic Review

Additional Info

Composer Avner Dorman
Publisher G Schirmer Inc
Arrangement Piano (PF)
Format Score
Genre 20th Century

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: After Brahms (Three Intermezzos for Piano)


Use spaces to separate tags. Use single quotes (') for phrases.