Gunther Schuller: Bouquet for Collage

fl, cl, perc, pf, vn, vc


For Pierrot Ensemble. Commissioned in 1988 by the Boston-based new music group Collage, made up of members of the Boston Symphony Orchestra. "As they are remarkable virtuoso instrumentalists I originally decided to compose the work in eight movements, each featuring in a primary soloistic role one of the eight instruments, all encompassed by an opening Introduction and a closing Coda. But since percussionist Frank Epstein was the founder and long-time titular leader of Collage, I decided to give him two movements, making eleven altogether. Thus, in effect, Bouquet is a kind of mini concerto for chamber ensemble." — Gunther Schuller

Additional Info

Composer Gunther Schuller
Publisher Margun Music
Arrangement Piano Chamber (PFC)
Format Score and Parts
Genre 20th Century

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Bouquet for Collage


Use spaces to separate tags. Use single quotes (') for phrases.