Michael Gordon: The Sad Park

2vn, va, vc; +amplification +audio playback +electronics (non-printable digital download* only for use on tablets, iPads, and other devices)
The Sad Park - score   +$0.00
The Sad Park - violin 1   +$0.00
The Sad Park - violin 2   +$0.00
The Sad Park - viola   +$0.00
The Sad Park - cello   +$0.00
The Sad Park   +$0.00

* Required Fields


For string quartet +amplification +audio playback +electronics.

Composer note:

Part 1: Two evil planes broke in little pieces and fire came. Part 2: There was a big boom and then there was teeny fiery coming out. Part 3: I just heard that on the news that the buildings are crashing down. Part 4: And all the persons that were in the airplane died.

The recordings used in this piece are of children, ages 3 and 4, and were made by Loyan Beausoleil, a pre-kindergarten teacher at University Plaza Nursery School in Lower Manhattan, between September 2001 and January 2002. (My son Lev was in Ms. Beausoleil's class during this period.) Her ongoing work with these children is chronicled at www.youngwitness.com

When I heard these recordings I was struck by the raw tunefulness of the children's speech. These specific segments were chosen for their musicality as well as for their content. I worked with sound designer Luke DuBois on the post-production of these tapes. In Parts 1 and 3, the sound clips are gradually slowed down to reveal the hidden acoustical properties of the speech. Parts 2 and 4 use an electronic music technique called granular synthesis, in which tiny ''grains'' of sound from the original source are captured and compacted together.

— Michael Gordon

The Sad Park was commissioned by the Kronos Quartet, through the generosity of Mrs. Ralph I. Dorfman, with additional support from the Barbican, London (UK), and the National Endowment for the Arts.

* After purchasing a digital download, please go to My Downloadable Products to download the file. Your file download link never expires so you can use this page as your backup music library (see Terms and Conditions.) The music comes as a stamped, password-protected, non-printable PDF file. Please use your own email address as the password to open the file. The file can be opened on all devices.

Additional Info

Composer Michael Gordon
Publisher Red Poppy
Arrangement String Quartet/Live Electronics (STR QUARTET/ELEC)
Format Digital Set
Genre 20th Century

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: The Sad Park


Use spaces to separate tags. Use single quotes (') for phrases.