Our office will be closed Friday, December 22, 2017 until Tuesday, January 2, 2018 for the holiday. No orders will ship during this time. We will process your order as soon as we reopen.×

Matthew Aucoin: Three Études



For piano. These are studies not of particular technical challenges of piano playing, but rather in forms of musical motion and pianistic sonic possibilities. The playful "rondo which devours itself" consists of a recurring fragmentary line in the right hand that is constantly menaced by opposing forces in the music, little electric jolts that force the line to grow shorter and shorter over the piece's brief lifespan, until the whole complex self-combusts. The untitled second piece is a study in a strange, hovering form of perpetual motion. And the third, "a sounding," is a melancholy sounding of the depths of the piano's rich capacity for resonance. — Matthew Aucoin

Additional Info

Composer Matthew Aucoin
Publisher Associated Music Publishers Inc
Arrangement Piano (PF)
Format Score

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Three Études


Use spaces to separate tags. Use single quotes (') for phrases.