Robert Xavier Rodríguez: Xochiquetzal (for violin and piano)

vn, pf


Violin and piano version of the original work for violin and percussion ensemble. Xochiquetzal was designed as a companion piece to Lou Harrison’s Concerto for Violin with Percussion Orchestra (1950) as well as Rodríguez's previous composition, El día de los muertos (2006). El día de los muertos and Xochiquetzal are both programmatic works based on Mexican subjects. Both contain folk melodies, and both may be performed with dancers. The violin solo represents Xochiquetzal throughout, and the writing is virtuosic with frequent multiple stops and extensive use of the upper register. The percussion scoring emphasizes pitched instruments (two vibraphones, two marimbas, crotales, glockenspiel, chimes, timpani, seven tuned roto-toms and six tuned nipple gongs) with a wide variety of exotic, non-pitched sounds.

Additional Info

Composer Robert Xavier Rodríguez
Publisher Alhambra RXR
Arrangement Piano/Violin (PF/VLN)
Format Score and Parts
Genre 20th Century

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Xochiquetzal (for violin and piano)


Use spaces to separate tags. Use single quotes (') for phrases.